50th Fisher Peterson Tillett Regatta-History and Day's schedule

The Fisher Peterson Tillett (FPT) youth regatta has always been a friendly and enjoyable event with a focus on participation for all sailors.  With the 50th running of the FPT regatta in March 2017 it is a good time to reflect on the history of this event.

It all started in 1967, on the Patawalonga Lake. The Fisher Trophy Regatta was instigated by Arthur Fisher, in remembrance of his father Tom, providing a regatta for the Holdfast Trainers, the then South Australian junior training dinghy.  Sailors from all clubs were invited to participate, with a huge success rate of approximately 60 boats per regatta. It was always Arthur's intention that it be a friendly and enjoyable event with a focus on participation and fellowship.  Arthur was always keen to have the parents involved and originally provided afternoon tea for them at his house which overlooked the “Pat”.

Arthur had the amazing Fisher Trophy made by one of his colleagues at the stevedoring company where Arthur worked. The Fisher Trophy now sits in pride of place in the Sunny South Memorial Room in the Adelaide Sailing Club.

With growing numbers of International Cadets in SA, it was decided that they should also be included in the regatta, which remained hugely popular until the Patawalonga Lake became unusable due to the effects of pollution.

In the 1980s, Neville Wild, Chairman of the Glenelg Sailing Club’s junior sailing group and John Clifton, the club coach, revived this regatta, with a new location at Misery Point on West Lakes. This was attended by Arthur Fisher, who had the Fisher Trophy completely refurbished. The following year the Fisher Trophy Regatta was held on the Gulf waters, where it has remained ever since.  It was at this point that Nick Peterson arranged for the Peterson and Tillett families to become involved, both donating trophies for 303 and International Cadet classes, respectively. The families continue to sponsor the event which enables the club to continue this tradition and provide a simple afternoon tea of tea and scones.

The trophies have now been realigned to reflect the current classes which are sailed at Adelaide Sailing Club.  This has included introducing other trophies including the Opti Cup and the O’pen Bic Trophy.  The Peterson trophy is now awarded on a yardstick basis.

The Fisher Peterson Tillett Youth Regatta has become the major junior/youth sailing regatta at Adelaide Sailing Club and welcomes participation by any junior/ youth class sailor affiliated with any Australian Sailing affiliated club.


Schedule Sunday March 12, 2017

  • 8.30am:            Registration desk opens.  Registration forms can be collected and filled out. (require sailors YA number).  Entry fee $20 per boat.  Collect free t-shirt for participants.
  • 9.00am:             Breakfast available (egg n bacon rolls)
  • 9.30am:             Briefing
  • 10.30am:           1st Warning signal (morning session)
  • 12.30pm:           Morning session concludes. Lunch can be purchased from the canteen.  Free iceblock for all participants!
  • 1.30-2.00pm:    1st Warning signal (afternoon session)
  • 5.30pm:             Kids meals available in bistro.  All participants in regatta can avail themselves to the kids meal deal.  Parents are invited to pre-order meals.
  • 6.30pm:             Presentation of trophies, cutting of 50th anniversary cake and distribution.
  • 7.00pm:             Bistro open to general public

(Times may change on the day at the discretion of Adelaide Sailing Club)